CULT CHOCOLATE - La Maison du Chocolat

CULT CHOCOLATE

Robert Linxe, Founder of La Maison du Chocolat
Robert Linxe, inventor of cult Chocolate

MYTH BECOMES LEGEND

 
In the late 1970s, Robert Linxe, founder of La Maison du Chocolat, lit up the world of chocolate with a brilliantly fresh approach. A true visionary and trailblazer of taste, he inspired and influenced an entire generation of chocolatiers who followed him. He had an elevated idea of taste, orchestrating the flavours of chocolate like a musical score, infusing it with unique sensations that had never been experienced before.
 
Totally devoted to his art - and unanimously recognized today as a visionary - Robert Linxe opens his first boutique in 1977 on rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré in Paris, calling it simply ‘La Maison du Chocolat’. At a time when chocolate is mainly known in France as a sweet to be given as a gift for Easter and Christmas, the talented chocolatier’s spontaneously intuitive and bold treatment of dark chocolate immediately earned him a distinctive status in the heretofore staid - and very sugary - world of chocolate.
 
Dubbed ‘The Wizard of Ganache’, Robert Linxe elevates chocolate to the rank of an exceptional ingredient. He amplifies its subtleties in his ganaches: a filling with a melt-in-your-mouth texture created from fresh cream, coated with a thin layer of chocolate.
 
One of his secrets was doing what no one had done before, inviting people to discover a different facet of chocolate, not as sweet or candy-like, more adult, liberated from the excesses of sugar and cream. He refines his chocolate assemblages, stabilizes the consistency of the signature taste, and in a truly revolutionary approach at the time, insists on only the finest quality natural ingredients. His expert touch reveals previously unimagined aromatic subtleties, for the first time associating fruit and infusions with chocolate. Raspberry, mint, lemon and other flavours brings unprecedented subtle scents to his creations. His many fans owe him a completely reinvented taste of chocolate, the birth of the French passion for dark chocolate, and a singular art of tasting that lets chocolate express its full range of emotion. Chocolate-making begins to be compared with making fine wines. Tasting notes are replete with terms like ‘powerful’, ‘roundness’, ‘creamy flavours’, ‘long finish’, ‘mouth-watering tenderness’, ‘smooth’, ‘intense’, ‘full-bodied’… The stage is set.
 
After Robert Linxe, no longer would anyone simply bite into a piece of chocolate - they would taste it with an entirely new perspective. Robert Linxe is rightfully remembered as the trailblazer who transformed ganache into a noble culinary creation.

UPENDING TRADITION TO BLAZE NEW PATHS

Robert Linxe would realize his dream somewhat later, when his vision of chocolate finally came to fruition. With his first Maison du Chocolat on Faubourg Saint-Honoré, he established a new spirit and mindset - his own.
 
His idea of refinement extended to the smallest details, and 225 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré became the new temple of chocolate, shaking up the Parisian microcosm. He was avowedly obsessed with triggering a true upheaval, changing the times, upending tradition to better express his forward-thinking tastes. From that point onwards, he never ceased to disrupt the traditional image of sweet shops. He triggered a momentum that made pastel bonbon stores and pale pink ribbons a thing of the past. He opened the doors to chocolate for the 20th century and created a boutique that resonated with his groundbreaking beliefs. Meticulous and uncompromising, his standards expressed the personality of a new breed of chocolate, pure and noble, freed from an excessively sweet, cloying taste. Word of mouth quickly spread, and with it came burgeoning success.
 
Equally exceptional was the influence of one chocolatier on so many fellow artisans. The refreshing reinvention of chocolate spawned the Club des Croqueurs de Chocolat and then the Salon du Chocolat trade show, largely inspired by the vision of this uniquely creative talent.

THE PRIME AMBASSADOR OF FRENCH CHOCOLATE

 
For the first time in history, Robert Linxe also made French chocolate the standard of excellence beyond the country’s borders, as he tirelessly promoted his unique savoir-faire around the world. He was the very first to criss-cross the globe to initiate people into the subtleties of exceptional taste. The international renown of French-made chocolate is the result of his efforts. Year after year, he was its best ambassador, travelling to the most remote locations to explain the secrets of a ganache or a praliné. All those who had the chance to be initiated by him into the fine art of chocolate recall the experience with great emotion.
 
One of the first episodes in his international adventure was the opening in 1990 of the first Maison du Chocolat on 73rd Street in New York. After each opening in a new country, the renown of French chocolate grew with culturally decisive impact. Tokyo, London and Hong Kong in turn welcomed their own Maison du Chocolat at prestigious addresses.
 
 

DISTINGUISHING GOOD FROM EXCELLENT AND EXCELLENT FROM EXCEPTIONAL

 
Robert Linxe was an initiator and pioneer of new territories, and his chocolates immediately received an enthusiastic welcome. Considered a precursor, La Maison du Chocolat was the first French brand to open boutiques in leading world capitals. The Maison also had a lasting influence on several generations of local apprentices, who eagerly made the trip to Paris to learn first-hand from Robert Linxe in the basement workshop of the Faubourg Saint-Honoré boutique.
 
Crowned with success, La Maison du Chocolat was invited in 2000 to join the Comité Colbert, becoming part of an elite circle of luxury houses that champion French art de vivre across the globe. La Maison du Chocolat thus asserts the exceptional essence of French creativity around the world alongside the most prestigious names in haute couture, jewellery, perfume, and wines and spirits, all flagships of French heritage and savoir-faire. Robert Linxe elevated his vision of chocolate to the status of an essential value for France.

 

ROBERT LINXE
A PASSIONATE CREATOR-FOUNDER
Robert and Gisèle Linxe

時尚朱古力 - La Maison du Chocolat

時尚朱古力

Robert Linxe, Founder of La Maison du Chocolat
Robert Linxe - 時尚朱古力的始創者

當神話成為傳奇

 

70年代後期,La Maison du Chocolat創辦人Robert Linxe以其超群的技藝和創新的手法,震懾整個朱古力界。作為遠見卓識的味道先驅,他啟發和影響了當代追隨他的朱古力工匠。他對味道有著過人的見解,如編制樂譜般精心配搭朱古力的味道,滲透前所未有的觸感。
 
Robert Linxe將一生奉獻給他的工藝;時至今日,更被公認為極具遠見的朱古力大師。1977年,他在巴黎rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré開設了首家朱古力專門店,並起名「 La Maison du Chocolat」。當時的法國朱古力既古板又甜膩,故一般只作復活節和聖誕節禮物;而這位充滿才華的朱古力大師憑藉其對黑朱古力的直覺和大膽創新的處理手法,立刻便奠定了他在朱古力界與眾不同的地位。
 
Robert Linxe被喻為「朱古力蓉魔法師」,他提升了朱古力的地位,令它成為無可比擬的獨特材料。他所研製的朱古力蓉突出了朱古力的微妙之處:以鮮奶油和朱古力製成的內餡,造就入口即溶的絲滑口感,外裹一層薄朱古力。
 
他的其中一個秘訣就是創作獨一無二的做法:不再使用過量的糖和奶油,令朱古力不會過甜或像糖果般;讓人探索朱古力的另一面。他改良朱古力的配搭,穩定皇牌味道的一致性,並採取當時來說非常革命性的做法――堅持只選用最優質的天然材料。
 
他的專業手藝讓創作滲透微妙的香氣,更史無前例地把水果和其他浸香味道搭配朱古力。紅莓、薄荷、檸檬和其他味道為他的創作帶來獨家的芳香滋味。
 
他的崇拜者感激他重新展現朱古力的味道及觸感,引發了法國人對黑朱古力的熱情,並且令品嚐朱古力成為一門藝術。
 
朱古力工藝更開始與美酒釀製相題並論。兩者的嚐味筆記均記錄著相似的字眼,如「濃烈」、「圓潤」、「幼滑味道」、「餘韻悠長」、「溫和得令人垂涎」、「幼滑」、「強烈」、「醇厚」等。
 
自此之後,沒有人再會隨意將朱古力送進口中,而是以全新的角度品嚐朱古力。Robert Linxe把朱古力蓉改造成尊貴的美食創作,被世人奉為朱古力界的先驅。

 

顛覆傳統 開拓新道

當Robert Linxe對朱古力的願景終於實現時,他亦同時實踐他的夢想。隨著第一家La Maison du Chocolat專門店於Faubourg Saint-Honoré開設,他亦創立了一種嶄新的精神和思維。他將精緻優雅的概念延伸至最微小的細節,而225 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré便成為了新的朱古力神殿,徹底改變了巴黎的小宇宙。他銳意引發一場改變時代、顛覆傳統的巨變,讓他更能表達其前衛品味。自此,他不斷試圖顛覆傳統糖果店,令粉色俗套的糖果店成為歷史。他開啟了通往20世紀朱古力的大門,並創立了一家反映出其突破性理念的朱古力店。他一絲不苟和永不妥協的做事方式孕育出一種創新朱古力的個性――純正和高貴,擺脫以往過於甜膩的味道。
 
朱古力店很快便確立了良好口碑,且獲得空前成功。
 
除了朱古力的非凡品質,Robert Linxe為其他朱古力工匠所帶來的影響亦同樣深遠。他的朱古力創作令人耳目一新,大大啟發了當時法國朱古力愛好者俱樂部(Club des Croqueurs de Chocolat)及法國朱古力展(Salon du Chocolat)的工藝師,繼而紛紛仿傚。

法國朱古力的最佳大使

 

Robert Linxe孜孜不倦地在全球推廣他的獨特造詣,成為歷史上首個令法國朱古力的優質水 平揚威海外的人;他更是第一個周遊列國去介紹及分辨優質微妙味道的朱古力大師。年復年,他成為了最佳的朱古力大使,遠赴世界最偏遠的角落去解釋朱古力蓉果仁朱古力的奧秘。那些曾經受他啟蒙而進入朱古力藝術世界的人,現在回想起依然感動。
 
1990年,他在紐約第73街開設了美國第一家La Maison du Chocolat,開展了第一次國際探險之旅。每次在新的國家開店,均為這知名的法國朱古力文化衝擊,從而愈臻完善。東京、倫敦和香港亦依次在尊貴的地段開設La Maison du Chocolat專門店。
 
 

分辨良好與優質 鑑別優質與非凡

 

Robert Linxe勇於在不同的地域發展,而他的朱古力亦總是立即受到熱烈歡迎。La Maison du Chocolat是第一家在全球主要城市開店的朱古力品牌,可算是業界的先驅。品牌亦對當地幾個世代的學徒帶來深遠影響,促使他們專程到巴黎學藝,希望能跟隨Robert Linxe於Faubourg Saint-Honoré專門店的地窖工作坊學習朱古力工藝。
 
La Maison du Chocolat的成功,讓它於2000年獲邀加入法國奢華品牌協會Comité Colbert,儕身提倡法國生活藝術的高級品牌精英圈子。La Maison du Chocolat因而與一些最尊貴的品牌一同在全球推廣法國創意的非凡精髓,這些品牌涵蓋高級服裝、珠寶、香水、葡萄酒和烈酒,是所有法國傳統和造詣的皇牌代表。Robert Linxe更提升了朱古力的地位,令它成為法國其中一項重要價值。

 

ROBERT LINXE
充滿熱忱的創作者及創辦人
Robert and Gisèle Linxe